Meal Prep!

Happy National Peanut Butter Day! :]

I ❤ PB. I put it in my oatmeal this morning, as a matter of fact.

But I could just eat spoonfuls of it… Which is funny because I used to hate peanut butter.

Anyway, today I wanted to talk about my “meal prepping” that I do!

I don’t actually put together the meals and put them in containers. Honestly, I think that’s kind of gross. Instead, I just pre-cut and wash everything so that it’s easier and faster to use!

For example, I had pre-cut strawberries in my fridge right now! So whenever I’m craving something sweet, I can just grab a few of those. It makes it so convenient. Almost as convenient as unwrapping a piece of chocolate… (;

Well, today I went to the grocery store because I was running low on fresh foods.

I’ve decided to try and focus my diet on fruits and vegetables with some meat and whole grains tossed in but very low dairy.

I went to Wal-Mart to do my shopping because I like to save $$$$$.

I bought:

  • Head of broccoli
  • Head of cauliflower
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Cucumber
  • Yellow squash
  • Celery
  • Whole carrots
  • Chicken breasts
  • Sweet potato
  • Green bell pepper
  • Spinach & kale mix
  • I already have brussel sprouts, a big spaghetti squash, blackberries, strawberries, apples, grapefruit, oranges, black beans, garbanzo beans, and avocado!

 

When I got home, I put away the tomatoes, carrots, bell pepper, squash. sweet potato, and salad and then go to work prepping the rest!

The chicken breasts are pretty small, so I get sandwich baggies and put about two in each. That way, I can freeze them and then just defrost one baggy at a time when I want chicken!

The celery I washed and cut into ~3 or 4 inch pieces so that I can easily use them to dip in hummus or PB!

I washed and cut the broccoli and cauliflower into manageable sized pieces. Now, they’re easily available to throw onto a salad or cover in olive oil to roast in the oven!

Yippee! It’s much easier to eat clean when you have healthy stuff around. And by prepping the food, it’s much easier to actually use instead of being too lazy to prepare when you’re hungry! 

I also bought canned tuna and canned salmon for my pantry to throw on a salad sometime! I also already had canned beets which are insanely awesome to use and delicious. However, I really do love roasting my own beets. I just loved roasted vegetables.

Alright, that’s all I had to say!

School was cancelled today because of inclement weather (aka it was cold.) So, I ended up waking up at 6:30 {my alarm would’ve gone off at 6} and having breakfast and then falling back asleep until 10! My body needed the sleep. My brain and body felt exhausted. Hey, I’ve been working and training hard!

After the store and meal prepping, I did a quick workout which honestly left me breathing kind of hard and it was only 8 minutes long! 

Now I need to accomplish some homework and drive to campus to buy a lab book.

Tomorrow I’m going to Dallas to watch my sister in a cheer competition and Sunday I am going on a long run {because sadly, I didn’t do one this past weekend!}

Cheers!

Juliana

 

Leave a Reply

