Airport Adventures

Good morning!
I haven’t even been awake for two hours yet but I’ve already had quite the adventure.

It started off with a 2:30 am wake up call. Yes, 2:30. My flight leaves at 6. What can I say? I like to be on time! 😉 Anyway, I stayed in a king sized bed at a La Quinta and it was so nice. As can be expected, considering I’d been camping the past four days!

Anyway, I quickly changed, packed anything I had taken out of my little bag, brewed one of the free cups of coffee and headed out the door! I had a White Chocolate Macadamia Luna Bar (which is amazing when dunked in coffee), but I’m going to try to get something else from one of these cafés before I board my plane!

I got to long term parking and waited at one of the shuttle bus stations… And I waited. And waited. All the buses seemed to be going to every other lot but mine. I called to ask if the shuttles were running to my lot (which “well they were earlier”) and the man said he’d send one my way. 20 minutes later, I decided to find a shuttle myself. I hopscotched and hiked from lot to lot until I finally tracked one down.

I entered the airport, but TSA was still closed, so I sat down in an empty cafe seating area. A woman came and sat next to me, tapped me on the shoulder, and shoved her boarding pass in my face. Please keep in mind that at this point I have still only had one cup of very weak coffee, so I was majorly confused. She spoke only Spanish. She needed help understanding her ticket, so using the Spanish I could recall from the depths of my brain, I helped her. Funnily enough, the airport vocabulary I learned in Spanish 2 that seemed ridiculous at the time would’ve been really helpful… If I had remembered it.

We continued to talk communicate and this is what I took away:
Her name is Maria. She’s 25 and from Ecuador. She has a 5 year old son and her husband was waiting for her in NY. He had been there for 4 months with a visa.
Aaaaaand that’s about it. She asked to borrow my jacket because she was cold and I told her she could keep it. I felt fine and it was like a $4 Old Navy jacket that I had dug out from the depths of my car yesterday.

Now, enter Mark. A 28 year old from New Hampshire (that is actually walking towards me as I write this, holy guacamole…) that was visiting Texas for the first time. Mark had something a bit peculiar about him, but I listened intently as he told me about all the things he had done while in Texas. Apparently there’s a Texas railroad that you can ride on?!

Finally, he abruptly told me bye and walked away. By the way, all he did just now was walk by and say “hi Juliana!”

I got up, said by the Maria, and went through security. I was full body scanned. Actually, it seemed like everyone was getting the scan. After I walked through, a lady patted down my hair and ponytail. It was odd. Especially since I just haven’t been in an airport in years.

And here I am, sitting at my gate, waiting for a cafe to open so that I can caffeinate. T minus seven hours until Cali! 🙂

I’m hoping to chat it up with whoever I sit next to on the plane, but considering this flight is so early, I think the whole flight may just be asleep.

Talk to you soon! (Probably in Phoenix!)
Wish me safe travels!

Love,
Juliana

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

