Race Recap: Kerrville Quarter Tri

Hello hello good morning! I’m up an hour before my alarm because I went to bed really early last night haha!

Want to hear all about my triathlon? Well good! Because I’m about to tell you alllll about it!

I’ll skip all the boring stuff and we’ll go straight to 4:50 am on Sunday morning. Waking up wasn’t so bad considering I had gone to sleep at around 8 the night before…

Immediately I got dressed, threw my tent into its bag, and headed to the swim start! My bike had already been put into transition the day before, so all I needed to do was set up the actual transition stuff.

IMG_0191.JPG

IMG_0198.JPG

This triathlon had an interesting transition system. There were two transition areas and in our packets from pick up we had three bags: morning clothes, bike gear, and run gear. Saturday afternoon, we had to deposit our bikes into T1, then we all had to drive over to T2 where you had to out your running gear bag which was full of anything you’d possibly need for your run. On Sunday morning, right before the swim, you put anything you wore/brought to the race that you didn’t need to actually race into the morning clothes bag (ex: sweatshirt because it was freaking 59 degrees outside!!!) and then gave it to the race crew. The bike gear bag was for the transition from swim to bike. Anything you were not going to use for the bike needed to be put into the bike gear bag (ex: towels, goggles, swim cap, transitioning junk) so that the crew could pick up those bags. At the end of the race, all of your stuff would already have been brought to T2 because it was so close to the finish line!

It was a really nice system but I was so terrified that I would accidentally forget something and/or put stuff in the wrong bag. But I didn’t!

Back to the race now!

Swim:
The swim was in the Guadalupe River. And wetsuit legal. I felt like the only person there that didn’t have a wetsuit and I was freaking out. I was most worried about the swim to begin with it and I didn’t want another freezing catastrophe like at the Rookie Tri. However, because it was so cold outside, the water was warmer than the air so it actually felt really nice to get in. It was also a time trial start instead of a mass start and I LOVED it. Every 3-5 seconds they sent someone into the water, so you didn’t have to worry about getting kicked in the jugular. To keep calm as I swam, I kept trying to pretend I was just swimming laps in the pool. I felt really strong as I swam even in the open water! 🙂

T1:
There was a giant hill leading from swim to T1 so I ran up it like a boss.

Bike:
Ahhh yes. The bike was really fun! Kerrville was so beautiful that I had to constantly make sure I wasn’t slowing down to just look around. I also experimented with fueling and it worked out really well! I brought ClifKids bars with me and ate one every hour on the hour. The only lame thing that happened on the bike was when I watched someone crash 😦 he was trying to pass and hit a cone because his head was down. Luckily no cars were coming, but he veered into the street and fell and slid for a while. I saw him hustling during the run though, so I think he’s okay!

T2:
Hahaha, this was kind of funny because any time I tried to put my shoe on I’d lose my balance and tip over.

Run:
Oh man. It was a 2 loop course. Not going to lie, I was pretty out of it by this point. I did not have coffee the morning of the race. My legs felt strong but my mind was like oh my goodness they have orange slices at this aid station I LOVE ORANGE SLICES SO MUCH. Nonetheless, I kept trucking along. The route was pretty hilly and the first loop took you right next to the finish line (which was torture)! I ran pretty slow… My pace improved towards the end because I had finished shaking off the bike soreness, so hopefully that’ll work out well for the 1/2 Iron Triathlon!

Finish Line:
It was happy happy times. 🙂

IMG_0183.JPG

IMG_0188.JPG

IMG_0197.JPG

After the race, I got my first PSL of the season and drove home. It was so peaceful!

I’m really excited for 70.3 now! 🙂 I know what training I need to focus on for this last month of training and then it’ll be time to kick triathlon butt.

Love,
Juliana

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Dude. Seriously awesome job Jul! We’re so proud of you!

    1. Thank you 🙂 it was fun!!

  2. You’re so motivated and have such a free spirit! I absolutely adore you!

Leave a Reply

