Greenbelt Adventure Run

Holy guacamole guys. I just had so much fun! Yesterday I headed to the Greenbelt here in ATX for a trail run, but I was getting eaten up by mosquitoes so I called it quits after only 1.8 miles. So today I headed there again covered head to toe in sunscreen and bug spray (welcome to TX)!

I ended up getting pretty lost, running into some obstacles, stumbling onto some homeless camps, seeing some beautiful stuff, and STILL getting attacked by mosquitoes…

Nonetheless, it was awesome and I swear I will know the trails like the back of my hand by the time I graduate UT.

Rather than try to ramble on what I can remember, I’m just going to throw a bunch of pictures at you and comment on them!

photo 5 (2)

The Greenbelt! The way you access it is important because it’s different everywhere you go!

 photo 4

 photo 3

Awesome rock painting!

photo 1 (2)

Rock face.

photo 1

Lost selfie. I had just climbed up that “path”… And by climbed, I really do mean climbed! It was way steep.

photo 2 (2)

Not 100% sure what this was, but I think this is what I free climbed for a bit.

photo 2

THIS BRIDGE. Oh my word. Okay, I was seriously lost on what I thought were trails  – word of advice: Just because it looks like trail DOES NOT MEAN IT IS ONE. 😉 I crossed it once, ran for about a half a mile until I dead ended at a homeless camp. I filmed it the second time I crossed it but the video is blurry because it was on my phone. The smart thing to do would have been to climb down into the ravine and then climb back up the other side (it was about 4-5 ft down) but instead I did what any reckless adventurer would do and decided to cross the dang bridge. It rocked.

photo 3 (2)

Some flowing water yo.

photo 4 (2)

I LOVE seeing these things! They crack me up.

It was an awesome time! If you’re ever in Austin and want a Greenbelt adventure buddy then just hit me up! We can run or hike or whatever! 🙂

Love,

Ju

Leave a Reply

