“We’re all just walking each other home.”

I am a really huge fan of quotes. I think it’s because I’m not very good at crafting my thoughts into beautiful, elegantly smooth sentences. So, instead, I appreciate other’s abilities to do so.

Tonight I really want to talk about this:

“We’re all just walking each other home.”

How beautiful, right? And how amazingly accurate.

You guys, lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how we treat people. In my short 19 years of life, I’ve already witnessed humans doing incredible things for or with other humans. I’ve also seen people hurt each other: physically, emotionally, mentally. You can do it with your words and your prestige just as much as your fists and strength.

I’m sure many of you have heard the quote that’s something like “be kind to everyone you meet, for everyone is fighting a battle of their own” or something along those lines. We’re all the same. Age, race, ethnicity, sex, gender, vocal accents, hair color, physical features are all unique effects on our bodies, but inside, we’re equivalent.

It is for this reason that it astounds me when someone seemingly goes out of their way to be unkind or to make life difficult for someone else. Because let’s be real guys, life is hard. I 100% believe that life is a beautiful thing and it is so amazing, but it can also be really difficult. And that is not unique to just a few. We all experience it. Sure, it may be to different magnitudes, but when it comes down to it: we can all feel hurt. We’ve all felt sadness and loneliness and stress and rejection and just straight up pain of some kind. We all know how much it hurts. We all know how much we want to avoid it. So why don’t we help each other avoid the pain? Why don’t we go out of our way to help people through it?

Selfishness? Maybe. Honestly, I just think that we forget that the stranger that just walked by can feel exactly as you feel. We get a little self-absorbed, but not in an inherently selfish way. I think that sometimes we just think to ourselves, “I am me. The people around me are just white noise.” I’m not calling anyone out, because I know I’m guilty of it too.

However, I do think that we can change. Throughout this semester, there have been times that I just wished for a stranger to walk up to me and ask if I needed a hug. Because there were times that a hug was really all I wanted and I would’ve taken one from anyone. I wanted someone to notice my face. Not for me eyes or nose or freckles or blemishes, but for my emotions.

I dare you to notice someone. I dare you to remember that you’re not the only one that feels. I dare you to be kind. Tonight. Tomorrow. Every single day.

“We’re all just walking each other home.” Sometimes we need someone to lean on. Sometimes we just need someone to cheer us on. But we always need someone.

I dare you to remember that.

Love,

Juliana

2 Comments Add yours

  1. JULIANA. I love every post on your blog, but this one is especially is so wonderful. Maybe you can’t sum up your words into one beautiful sentence, but you sure can write a beautiful blog post! I have been working on this lately too. It is so important because people are so important!

Leave a Reply

