Day 1

Good morning!

Yesterday was pretty fun. I walked almost 11 miles. Hahaha!

Yesterday I woke up at 7ish and went to the main guest house for breakfast. A bakery down the street supplies the hostel lots of bread every morning and the coffee shop across the street supplies reaaaaally good coffee.

Afterwards, I got ready to face the cold and headed out to Stump Town Coffee. I got an almond milk cappuccino and it was nice!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0593.jpg

As I was drinking it I decided to head to Forest Park next. I figured out what bus to take and sort of just hopped on. Luckily, the bus driver was super nice and she helped me out a bit.

Once I got off I had to walk up some huge hills to get to the trails but it was worth it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0598.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0621.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0615.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0602.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0626.jpg

I decided against walking all the way back so I requested my very first Uber. It was convenient and cheap, but Uber is pretty evil sooooo…

I ended up taking a nap at the hostel because I was tired and cold. When I woke up, I headed to the coffee shop across the street for a pick me up. The coffee really is so good. And they had vegan pastries! This one is a banana chocolate chip muffin. I’m pretty sure Portland is more vegan friendly than ATX.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/741/56750851/files/2014/12/img_0628.jpg

Afterwards, I called yet another Uber to take me to the Historic Mississippi District. There were LOTS of funky shops and I went in and out of almost all of them. I decided against getting another ride home so I walked back to the hostel. It took a while! I got to cross the Mississippi River by foot which was pretty neat.

I think that I like the Pearl District the best… It reminds me a lot of S. Congress!

After I got home I walked some more to Trader Joe’s to buy stuff for dinner! The hostel has huge fridges and kitchens so that you can actually make things! I ended up eating veggie patties, vegetables, and pita chips with an obscene amount of hummus.

It gets dark at 4:30ish here so I kind of holed up inside because I was cold and tired and I had gotten a really early start! I got a lot of sleep though and I feel really good now!

I’m thinking I may run to Washington today!

Love,
Juliana

Leave a Reply

