la sierra gorda queretana.

on

I don’t really know how to put this entire story into words. It was one of the most incredible experiences of my life so far. I want to share my experience with you, but at the same time, a small part of me doesn’t want to ruin the memories by attempting to write them out.

This weekend, a group of mis amigas y yo fuimos a la Sierra Gorda. 

If you know me, you know that outside is my favorite place. And you can probably take a guess at how elated I was to go.

As much as I’d love to tell every story I have from the trip, I can’t. I just can’t find the words to express them with the justice they deserve. When I get back to Austin, if you want to hear my experience through spoken word, you can come over for brunch one day. I’ll make cafe de olla and chilaquiles and I’ll buy pan dulce from the panaderia on Riverside and we’ll have a grand ole time, deal?

Anyway, I’ve decided to give you small snippets of moments I know I will never forget…

-> waking up at 4 am to the women doing the pilgrimage to the Virgin Guadalupe

-> eating the best gorditas I’ve ever had in Pinal de Amoles (Gracias, Señora Maria!)

-> being awestruck by the mountains

-> riding in the back of a pick up truck down a rocky road to Rio Escanela

-> incredulous laughter and ‘wow’ being my only reactions to the land and water

-> jumping off a small metal bridge into the most beautiful, cold water 

-> climbing through small passages in rocks 

-> viewing missions painted with the colors of la tierra

-> eating the freshest mangoes and getting sticky hands and faces

-> crossing a quick moving river with only the arms of mis amigas as support

-> jumping off of cliffs into Las Adjuntas with no fear and riding with the Rapids

 -> standing under las cascadas de Chuveje full of disbelief and pure joy for this life

-> thinking I was going to die as I attempted to climb up and down a slick muddy incline

-> refusing to sleep on the car ride home to not miss one second of the view 

-> and having the most incredible “parents” go with us: Regina and Salvador

Of course, there is so much more to tell, but these are some of the moments that shine the brightest. I’ll post pictures soon, but for now all I have are words.

I will go back one day and hopefully soon.

Love,

Ju

Leave a Reply

