451 and Snaps

The day really didn’t get started until after noon…

I woke up at 8, broke the fast, then went grocery shopping, came home, got back into bed, had an early lunch, then got back into bed.

What can I say? Apparently my workout yesterday was more intense than I had thought, so I woke up with incredible soreness.

As I was lounging around, I was walking a lot of Vlogbrothers on YouTube. I’m a big fan of passionate people, so listening to John Green be so passionate about books and reading and reading deeply and constantly bettering ourselves made me want to go to the library.

I then drove to Bennu to caffeinate myself. They have a line of mochas all named after historical literature.

  
I then went to the Austin Public Library, roamed around all the while realizing that I did not remember how to use a library, and then settled on these two books:

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (which I somehow had gotten through 15 years of schooling without reading)

And Coincidences, Chaos, and All That Math Jazz by Edward Burger (who used to make hilarious algebra videos that I watched in 7th grade) and Michael Starbird (who works at UT!)   

 
I started and finished Fahrenheit 451 and was, and for a lack of a better word, burned by it. I’m still processing what it means to me. I loved it a lot. One quote stuck out to me the most:

“How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?”

Then I started reading the second book, which is an incredibly interesting and fascinating take on explaining complex mathematical theory to the general public. So far it’s been witty and comical and I’m enjoying it a lot.

  
   
 
I went to campus to swim so laps, saw an attractive dude doing impressive yoga, and then came home where I’ve been reading and watching more Vlogbrothers since.

The day began rainy and then got sunny, but it’s been completely and totally relaxing.

Hasta luego,

Juliana 

Leave a Reply

