wise words from a friend.

Hey! I’m sitting in my backyard typing this because it is a BEAUTIFUL DAY! I’m trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my day, but all I know is that I want to be outside the entire time.

These past few days have been full of nothing but positivity, so this is my tribute to that!

It feels like everyone has been a little bit kinder and more honest than usual, the days have been brighter and cooler, and new ideas have been brewing. I’ve also been thinking a whole lot about the idea most of us carry about how life is “supposed” to go.

I was having a conversation with my friend Marissa the other night (hey girl!) about this and it got real and awesome. Let me begin by saying that Marissa is one of the most genuine, wonderful people I know and I am so lucky to be able to call her friend. Anyway, we talked about the grind and the idea of going from high school to college to work to having a family and not being able to find time to be spontaneous.

We both agreed that life is made in the messy, confusing moments in which everything feels most out of order and frightening. We agreed that there is so much more to life than school and bills and a job.

But, Marissa said something that’s really been resounding with me and I wanted to share it!

“…life is just one freakin huge transition period. And the measure isn’t our grades, our income, our highest bowling score… it’s our hearts. It’s how we’ve allowed them to be refined and molded through life’s craziness and hardships and happiness into hopefully something kind and beautiful.”

And so today, I want to focus on what matters. This life and the beauty that’s found within it. So if you’ll need me, I’ll be outside wearing my heart on my sleeve.

Love,

Juliana

running today

Leave a Reply

