int ntr

Hey. So for the first time in a very very long time, I am trapped in my house without a bike or a car and it’s got me feeling really weird.

Therefore I have had a lot of time to think about stuff. Let me go ahead and say now that this is not my typical blog post. When someone talks to me about my major and what I want to do with it, I can typically resist going off into my huge spiel. But today I decided to share a little more of it with the world. Don’t get me wrong. This could go on for another couple of thousand words. But I will restrain myself!

Yesterday morning my mind landed on the idea of sustainability and what it means and how we go about trying to develop sustainable projects and lives.

If you didn’t know, I am very passionate about two things: people and nutrition. I mean, I have found that I am passionate about a lot of things, but people and nutrition are really at the top.

When people ask me what I am studying and why, I always answer with this:

I want to end world hunger.

And by I, I mean I want to be a part of a passionate, hardworking, relentless team of people from all around the globe that seek to develop sustainable and applicable food policy to ensure that every single person in this world is properly nourished.

I dream of a future that puts me out of a job. I want a world that no one goes to sleep or wakes up wondering where they’ll get their food that day. Or if the water will be clean enough to drink.

We can live in a world where no child is hungry. No child dies due to malnutrition and chronic hunger.

What absolutely blows my mind is that we already have the technology needed to solve world hunger today.

TODAY.

But the implementation and logistics of it gets difficult. See, in order for us to improve the world as a whole, we have to respect the similarities and differences around the globe.

Traveling, to me, is more than just seeing new places. It’s about learning to understand a culture so vastly different from my own and meeting people that have completely different thought processes than I do. But it’s also about being so in awe by the fact that we are still all the same. We still need the same basic requirements: food and water.

In the US alone, we produce enough food waste every year for each American to consume an extra 1249 kcal per day.

To put that in perspective, there are people on this globe that struggle to obtain 500 kcal a day.

But we can do something. We can fix this. It all boils down to sustainability. Of course, sustainable agriculture is necessary to ensure that, in areas where food is scarce, the people are able to grow and store enough food for arid seasons.

However, it also has to do with our current mindsets.

It’s so easy to close our eyes and ears off to information. It’s really easy to let a statistic be exactly that, a number. But you guys, I do not want to live in a world with 11.3% (~795 million people) of its inhabitants being chronically hungry.  I refuse to live in a world that allows 3.1 million children (under the age of 5) to die of hunger every single year.

These numbers have dropped dramatically over the last 2o years and I cannot even begin to express my joy about that.

So let’s get those numbers to zero, shall we?

That’s what I’m dedicating my life to.

I want to work in the field, I want to give everything I have to the fight against hunger.

I want a world without hunger.

And soon.

Leave a Reply

