running, recipe, recap

on

Happy Sunday! It’s a beautiful, and hot day in Virginia. I’m currently in a coffee/bike shop in The Plains, VA waiting on Patrick to finish his 80somethin mile ride. I rode 20 slowly and pleasantly because riding is now cross-training for me because I am running again!!


Yes running! It’s wild and I’m so happy. I ran 5 miles yesterday and it was terrifying and phenomenal. To say running is humbling is an understatement. Last week I was looking at pictures from my freshman year of college when running double digits multiple days in a row was no big deal. And now 3.5 miles is intimidating and a run that I have to pump myself up for. No complaints! I’m so grateful and have enjoyed every stride. It’s crazy because I’ve finally reached the point that each run is outside of my comfort zone again and it feels so empowering! Running rocks. This is the training plan I’m semi-following. It’s the most simple, beginner plan that Hal Higdon offers 🙂 


I’m so looking forward to this week because 4th of July (!!) and then on Friday Sabrina and Mathew are coming to town!!! It’s going to be so fun and I can’t wait to venture around the District with them, because I haven’t really done it myself to be honest…

As for this past week, on Monday and Tuesday I went to the American Heart Association’s Federal Lobby Day and met phenomenal people and a lot of the really cool Austin staff. I’m planning on volunteering when I return and am pretty pumped about it! 


The rest of the week was pretty standard. The AHA stuff was long and tiring so all I wanted to do the rest of the week was sleep.

Yesterday Patrick and I walked around Georgetown in search of coffee and ended up with pastries as well. 


This was at Dog Tag Bakery, which employs and empowers disabled veterans! Very cool and the chocolate tart was so so so good. My favorite kind of dessert by far.


Also. This finally happened. I love Wonder Woman. And now I get to pretend to be her. Life made.


We walked around for a while longer before the storm finally hit. We made it inside seriously moments before the downpour began.


I also made these stranger muffins yesterday that taste like fiber alone but apparently pair well with PB. I had originall intended to make chocolate chip zucchini muffins but that didn’t exactly happen.

The recipe is roughly:

1 zucchini, 1 banana, 1 pear, 2 T maple syrup blended together. Mixed with 1.75 cups of whole wheat flour, ~1/2 cups oats, and 2 T of flaxmeal. Baked for 12 minutes at 350. The batter smelled really sweet but they definitely taste healthy! I like them! But I also have been told my stamp of approval can’t be taken seriously. 

I did my 5 mile long run last night and it was hot and humid and wonderful. 


And now I’ll continue to wait for Patrick and hope that hanger doesn’t set in before then. (Sorry in advance, Pat.)

Have a wonderful rest of your Sunday!

Love,

Juliana 

Leave a Reply

